Very Green Vinaigrette

P1020210When I sat down last week to my customary lunch of baby kale and/or spring mix salad with the expected accompaniments ( avocado, chopped bell pepper, and carrot), I actually felt revulsion. After eating this lunch for several months (and as a mainstay of many, many dinners), I was finally sick of those soggy leaves coated in my usual olive oil & balsamic vinaigrette. As a vegetarian with a tendency towards veganism, I never thought I would see the day when I would feel ill at the sight of a salad! Well, that day had come. The convenience of buying salad leaves in those plastic clamshell containers has been overridden by my gag reflex. It was time for a new salad routine. Having promised to bring a salad as my contribution to a friend’s dinner party, I was inspired to actually go through the salad section of my numerous cookbooks, something I had rarely done before. In Tal Ronnen’s The Conscious Cook, I came across what looked to be a fairly strange recipe for a romaine salad with kohlrabi and cucumber and an herby vinaigrette. I typically use none of those ingredients and unusual is just what I needed to get over my salad boredom/aversion. It was a good risk to take: the vinaigrette in particular was a hit at the dinner party. I’ve included my adapted version of the recipe here. The salad itself, as I mentioned, included cucumber and kohlrabi, but I think the vinaigrette would go well with just about any veggie you choose.

2 garlic clove
1 shallot
a handful of fresh parsley
1 sprig of fresh terragon
1 sprig of rosemary, needles only
3 tbsp white wine vinegar
1 tbsp agave nectar
salt to taste
2 tsp Dijon mustard
1/4 cup plus a bit more olive oil (add more if you like a less vinegary tasting dressing)

I used a Magic Bullet to grind up the ingredients but you could use a food processor or blender. Put the first 6 ingredients in first to grind, then add the others and grind them together. This makes enough to coat about 8 servings of salad.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Very Green Vinaigrette

  1. Delicious! Was there spinach in the dressing too?

  2. Diane says:

    Would you include the salad part of the recipe? I’m interested to know what is done with the kohlrabi. You probably remember that your grandma loved kohlrabi.

  3. All you do is peel it and dice it. It’s pretty hard so you need to make sure the pieces are quite small.

Leave a Reply

