Gwyneth Paltrow’s Dad’s Buttermilk Pancakes

Yes, that’s right, Gwyneth Paltrow’s dad.  Gwyneth’s cookbook is on loan to me on the moment and this is the second recipe I’ve made from it (the first was an unremarkable blueberry muffin, which I didn’t bother to write up).  Before this cookbook I was pretty indifferent towards Gwyneth Paltrow but this her writing and recipes have definitely swayed me to like her.  It doesn’t hurt that she’s a health nut and (mostly) vegetarian (eating fish and chicken occasionally). Her dad’s diagnosis with a rare form of cancer in the late ’90s elicited the move towards a vegan-wheat-free-liquor-free-sugar-free-macrobiotic diet (in an attempt to heal her dad by proxy I guess), which she says has waned  in more recent years.  But still these tendencies are evident throughout the cookbook.  Anyway, on to the pancakes.  Gwyneth claims her dad was a pancake master but doesn’t everyone think their father is a pancake master? I think my dad makes the best pancakes and he uses an Aunt Jemima mix.  As skeptical as I was, I gave “Bruce Paltrow’s World Famous Pancakes” a go.  Sorry dad: you are now officially demoted to second place.  Bruce Paltrow’s pancakes are deee-licious. “Silky smooth” was how my husband described them, which until you’ve tried them, might seem a strange description for pancakes.  So try them!  This was my first time making buttermilk pancakes and they just don’t compare to anything else.  And if you are tempted to cheat and do the make-your-own buttermilk trick (1 tsp of vinegar in 1 cup of milk) I would highly suggest you restrain yourself. Get the real thing: there’s no substitute.

Two notes.  One: the batter needs to sit overnight in the fridge to ‘rest’.  I have no idea if that makes a difference but I love the idea of making the batter the night before and not messing around in the morning.  Two: the recipe I’m giving here is exactly half of the recipe that’s in the book.  It was more than enough for 2 people.  But if you are serving a family of four, double all the ingredients.

1.5 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
A bit more than 3 tablespoons of sugar
20 ml baking powder
1 tsp salt
1.5 cups buttermilk
3 tbsp unsalted butter
3 large eggs

Whisk together the dry ingredients in one bowl; the wet ingredients in another.  Add wet to dry.  Stir just enough to combine and don’t worry if the batter is a bit lumpy.  Cover and let sit in the fridge overnight.  In the morning have a look at the batter and decide if you want to thin it out a bit with milk.  I chose not to but Gwyneth suggests that you can thin it with up to a 1/2 cup of milk if you like more delicate pancakes.  I love blueberries in my pancakes so I added a few handfuls before cooking.  Add a bit of butter to the griddle and off you go!

March 2, 2013 Recipe Update – Veganize It!

I have been really craving these pancakes as they are hands-down the best pancake recipe I know. However I’ve stopped keeping dairy products in the house and so have never had the ingredients to make it. Last night I decided to try my hand at veganizing it and my husband and I just polished off the whole batch this morning. They were delicious and so easy to make! I am annoyed I didn’t think to do this sooner.  All you need to do is replace the buttermilk with soy milk, adding about 1.5 teaspoons of white vinegar and letting it sit for about 5 minutes or so. Soy milk curdles just like cow’s milk does! Instead of eggs, use egg replacer, equivalent to 3 eggs. Replace the butter with vegan margarine. Works like a charm!

P.S. – the photo above is the same one that accompanies the recipe in the book.  It’s taken by Ellen Silverman.

Tagged

One thought on “Gwyneth Paltrow’s Dad’s Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Neida Knewtson says:

    The word “macrobiotic” comes from Greek roots and means “long life”. The macrobiotic diet and philosophy were developed by a Japanese educator named George Ohsawa, who believed that simplicity was the key to optimal health. .

    Our new blog page
    <.http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/what-does-heartburn-feel-like/

Leave a Reply

