The Avengers

Every so often I think it’s good to suspend your disbelief, tell your brain to shut the hell up, and enjoy a fun superhero action movie.  I had a seriously good time watching The Avengers.  Yes, the premise is ridiculous.  No, there isn’t really a plot.  And I don’t care,  because the thinky part of my brain is shut off for the night.  There were some moments of unexpected humour, where I actually laughed out loud and none (that I can recall) of those obvious jokes  where you chuckle just for something to do.  The violence is exactly the kind that my wimpy self can handle: silly, over-the-top comic book-style action, where people fall from ridiculous heights and get hit with ridiculous things but there’s no blood or gore and the victim just shakes his head and blinks a few times.  The special effects were incredible and the acting was about as good as you’d expect from a movie like this.  Tom Hiddleston played an excellent evil foe – an almost believable genius megalomaniac.  I’ll confess to really liking Scarlett Johansson, which I feel is an unpopular opinion, but I loved Lost in Translation too much not to like her. So if you aren’t a Scarlett fan you may not enjoy The Avengers as much as I did. But if you’re in the mood for a mindless summer action flick, I don’t think you can go wrong with The Avengers.

4 thoughts on “The Avengers

  1. darkmatter42 says:

    I think writing this off as being a mindless summer action movie is not giving it quite enough credit. If you want a mindless action film take a look at the latest Superman or spiderman franchise installments. I know I’m a bit of a Joss Whedon fanboy but stay with me here a minute.

    Some of Whedon’s signature moves include ripping away minor characters suddenly to see how much he can make you care about them. Another is clever, realistic and often very self-aware dialogue. Still another is humanizing every aspect of his movies, not just the heroes and the villains but also extras standing around. I’ve never seen so much emphasis paid to making us realize that the buildings being knocked down are full of real people.

    Whedon works by taking something mindless or stupid (Like cowboys in space or a teenage valley girl who kills vampires, Neal Patrick Harris singing etc.) and adding real heart to it. So while the premise might be stupid, the product is somehow more than that.

    My opinion, of course.

  2. Thanks for the thoughtful response, Matt. Good point about the people in the buildings – I didn’t pick up on that one. And I totally agree that the dialogue was clever and self-aware. Perhaps you’re right that it’s more clever than I’m giving it credit for. I don’t have any patience for dumb movies and this definitely wasn’t one. But you definitely don’t have to think too hard about it or spend much time analyzing it afterwards.

  3. darkmatter42 says:

    Well you don’t have to but you could. Did you stay in the theatre for the schwarma scene? No dialogue but I thought it was the best scene in the whole movie.

Leave a Reply

