My Week With Marilyn

My Week With Marilyn is a pleasant film with no surprises: it’s pretty much exactly what you think it’s going to be.  No doubt it would be a 2.5 star (or baboon!) film, if it were not for Michelle Williams.  Here I’m giving it 3.5 baboons because Michelle Williams is incredible.  She is stunning as Marilyn Monroe and turns a pretty predictable, blah kind of movie into one absolutely worth seeing.  I will admit to liking Michelle Williams since her days as Jen in Dawson’s Creek.  Then there was Wendy and Lucy, a strange and original film that is a must-see in my opinion.  But My Week With Marilyn puts Michelle Williams into another category: a category of Oscar winners in my opinion.  She’s up for best actress in her role as Marilyn and she certainly deserves to win.  As for the rest of the film, well, there are some good performances in it:  I liked Judy Dench and Kenneth Branagh, and Emma Watson’s in there too.  And I liked the story, despite its predictability.  But don’t go see this film for the story.  Go for Michelle.

Leave a Reply

