The Artist

I actually saw The Artist over a week ago but have been too busy to post about it. I have also been procrastinating because I fear that my review will not be able to do this movie justice.  You will see below that it received 5/5 baboons so obviously I loved it:  it is the most original, creative, and beautiful film I have seen in a long time.  It is extraordinarily sad while simultaneously being funny and full of clever symbolism.  It is above all entertaining: I almost didn’t want it to end.  In case you aren’t aware: it is a silent film.  When is the last time you saw a silent film that you really and truly enjoyed?  They are quaint; a relic from the past that you can enjoy in the same way that you enjoy prehistoric stone tools in a museum.  You appreciate them for their historic value while recognizing that they don’t have any utilitarian value today.  The Artist is most certainly not one to watch just so that you can boast that you actually made it through a silent film.  It is great. Is is genuinely fun with a real story that you get drawn into and characters that you understand.  Along with Beginners it is my favourite movie of 2011.

2 thoughts on “The Artist

  1. Beginners, The Artist, Hugo. It’s been a good year!

    As to when I’ve seen a silent film that I really enjoyed? It’s kind of an unfair question for those who already love the genre. 🙂

    • I knew you would have something to say about that! And fair enough. Silent movies have intrinsic value of course but I’d never choose to rent one on a Saturday night – I’d always choose something modern because I ‘get’ the stories and I usually relate to the characters. Also they aren’t (usually) hammy or overacted the way older films tend to be.

Leave a Reply

