Bossypants, by Tina Fey

First off, let me declare my love for Tina Fey.  I think she is the modern day symbol of feminism and I find her inspiring, despite the fact that I have zero desire to become a comedian.  She is powerful, while at the same time being self-deprecating; she sticks to her guns and has worked to dismantle the widespread stereotype that women are not funny.  Women are most definitely very funny and Tina Fey fully demonstrates this in her book, Bossypants.  The book is a collection of anecdotes from her childhood and adulthood, interspersed with advice for working mothers.  My favourite parts of the book were definitely the chapters where she recalls her time with SNL – it was a fascinating look behind-the-scenes and into the lives of the very overworked writers and actors on the show.  While I loved this book (indeed there were several moments where I had to put it down because I was laughing so hard – if nothing else read the chapter on photo shoots) I wish Tina had spent more time talking about her SNL and 30 Rock experiences.  Some of her other stories are very very funny, but the mishmash of stories from her personal and professional lives, coupled with her advice to professional career-driven women (including working mothers), made the book seem a bit directionless.  I got the sense that she had written far more than was included and that much of it had to be cut down to meet the publisher’s requirements.  This should not in any way dissuade you from reading this book.  I think Tina Fey is one of the funniest people alive and Bossypants will not disappoint!

One thought on “Bossypants, by Tina Fey

  1. […] anything by David Sedaris and the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series. Tina Fey’s Bossypants was awesome for this purpose. I received Sleepwalk with Me as a Christmas present, after my lovely […]

Leave a Reply

