Argyle Pinot Noir 2008

Sometimes the experience of drinking a wine is more important than the actual taste and smell of it.  So while I did love the Argyle 2008 Pinot Noir, this may be due as much to the fact that I was out for a very nice dinner with my husband at a gorgeous restaurant to celebrate the first year of our engagement.  Also, due to a generous gift from some good friends of ours, we were able to splurge on a bottle of wine that we never would have ordered otherwise.  The ambiance of the restaurant (Le Faux Bourgeois in Vancouver) was the coziest I had ever experienced and I felt transported to le quartier latin in Paris on a rainy, blustery autumn evening.  My husband and I are pinot noir fans, especially those from the Willamette Valley region in Oregon.  In retrospect, I think the Argyle was actually a very average pinot: eminently drinkable and no food was needed to fully enjoy it.  But I think this is true of most pinots, which is why I like them.  I don’t want to have to eat a roast of lamb (especially as a vegetarian) to get the full flavour experience.  This is probably a rant best saved for a different post, but on that note, WHY is meat always the recommended accompaniment to most wine?  Beef bourguignon,  roast chicken, lamb shank….never have I heard the words, “This merlot would pair nicely with a vegetable lasagna or basil pesto.”).  Anyway….back to the Argyle.  If I saw this in the wine shop for $25 or less I would buy it in a second.  It’s light, it’s a sipping wine, but it also tasted great with my fruit de mer dish.  It’s got notes of black currant but nothing that will knock you over.  Just a yummy pinot noir!

Leave a Reply

